Adelaide Fringe

15-time Fringe award winner Tim Motley returns with new comedic magic show

Tim Motley debuts 2 Nuts for Dick Tricks: A Dirk Darrow Investigation at the Adelaide Fringe Festival.

From 15-time Fringe Festival award winner Tim Motley comes the award-winning, 2 Nuts for Dick Tricks: A Dirk Darrow Investigation.

Strap in for this award-winning set of five shows in one, including a combined rap song and magic trick, and a heretical preacher proving his faith with “miracles.”

Motley diverts from fan favourite 6 Quick Dick Tricks, which won the Magic Award at Fringe 2019, with his role as private detective Dirk Darrow.

But don’t worry: This show still has all the murder, mystery, and magic fans have come to expect, but from five different personas.

Each magical illusion is woven into the story by a different character in a gritty 1930’s mental hospital.

“I’ve really wanted to do all these different shows for years. I couldn’t decide which to do, so I just did them all at once,” says the creator, Australian-American Tim Motley.

Rapping to a magic trick has, to the creator’s knowledge, never been done before.

There’s also a preacher spreading the word of God (not the one you think), a superhero, a Fringe performer, and of course … Dirk Darrow 1930’s film noir.

Motley has won awards for his role as Dirk Darrow at the Perth, Adelaide, Edmonton, London, Victoria, Ottawa, Saskatoon, and Winnipeg Fringe Festivals, and he has performed in 49 countries and for celebrities such as Richard Branson, Baz Luhrmann, and Lachlan Murdoch.

The creator of his one-man character shows, and of ensemble circus cabaret shows, he has performed in more than 100 European, North American, and Australasian festivals.

He has also worked as stand-up comic, a cruise ship entertainer, a street performer, and a radio show host.

Dates & Times

Hall at Gawler Civic Centre:

Sun 14 Mar: 4pm

Theatre Two at The Parks Theatres:

Sun 7 Mar: 4pm, 8pm
Tue 16 Mar: 8pm

The Balcony Room at The Griffins Hotel:

Sun 28 Feb: 4pm
Sun 21 Mar: 4pm

The Ballroom at Ayers House:

Fri 19 Feb – Sat 20 Feb: 9pm
Wed 24 Feb – Sat 27 Feb: 9pm
Wed 3 Mar – Sat 6 Mar: 9pm
Wed 10 Mar – Sat 13 Mar: 9pm
Wed 17 Mar: 9pm
Thu 18 Mar: 8:30pm
Fri 19 Mar – Sat 20 Mar: 9pm

Fringe Link: Book 2 Nuts for Dick Tricks: A Dirk Darrow Investigation here.

xxxxxxx

Most Popular

To Top