2010 Adelaide Festival Awards For Literature Shortlist


With nominations up by almost 100 this year, the shortlists for the 2010 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are now hot off the press.

The winners will be announced at 4pm on Sunday February 28 (the first day of Adelaide Writers’ Week) in a presentation open to the public in the East Tent, Pioneer Women’s Memorial Gardens.

Established by the SA Government in 1986 the awards are managed through Arts SA and granted biennially, with a prize pool this year of $130,000. There are six national awards as well as two awards and two fellowships specifically for South Australian writers.

The most coveted national award is the Premier’s Award ($10,000), which is selected from amongst the winners of the published categories.

In addition, there are two SA Fellowships (valued at $15,000 each) designed to provide two SA writers with a living allowance while they pursue writing projects – these are the Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship (open to writers in the areas of fiction, poetry, drama, scriptwriting, autobiography, essays, major histories, literary criticism or other expository or analytical prose) and the Carclew Fellowship (open to writers for young people in the genres of fiction, drama, poetry or screenwriting). There are no shortlists for these fellowships.

“The prestige and public awareness of the awards continues to grow,” says Alexandra Reid, Executive Director, Arts SA. “Not only have the awards attracted entries from around the country, the calibre of short-listed publications reads like a ‘who’s who’ of contemporary Australian literature. Alongside national categories that have attracted established and well known published authors such as J. M. Coetzee and David Malouf, there are also categories which assist emerging South Australian writers to publish new work. And let’s not forget the two fellowships which will help two South Australian writers pursue their literary ambition.”

The awards shortlists for 2010 are as follows:

Children’s literature award ($15,000) – for a published children’s book, fiction or non-fiction.
  • Randa Abdel-Fattah (NSW), Where the Streets had a Name, Pan Macmillan Books.
  • Christine Harris (SA), Audrey’s Big Secret, Little Hare.
  • David Metzenthen (VIC), Jarvis 24, Penguin Books.
  • Glenda Millard and Rebecca Cool (VIC) Isabella’s Garden, Walker Books.
  • Ruth Starke (SA), Noodle Pie, Omnibus Books.
  • Shaun Tan (VIC), Tales from Outer Suburbia, Allen & Unwin.
Fiction award ($15,000) – for a published novel or collection of short stories.
  • Brian Castro (SA), The Bath Fugues, Giramondo.
  • J.M. Coetzee (SA), Summertime, Knopf/Random House.
  • John Harwood (SA), The Séance: A Victorian Mystery, Vintage.
  • Robert Hollingworth (NSW), They Called me the Wildman: the prison diary of Henricke Nelsen, Pier 9/Murdoch Books.
  • Julia Leigh (NSW), Disquiet, Penguin Books.
  • David Malouf (NSW), Ransom, Knopf/Random House.
Innovation award ($10,000) – for a published book which departs from the conventional use of genre by borrowing elements from a number of genres such as fiction, non-fiction, biography, autobiography, poetry or cultural criticism.
  • Marion May Campbell (VIC), Fragments from a Paper Witch, Salt Publishing.
  • MTC Cronin (QLD), Squeezing Desire Through a Sieve: Micro-essays on Judgement and Justice, Puncher and Wattmann.
  • Ross Gibson (NSW), The Summer Exercises, University of Western Australia Press.
  • Prof Stephen Muecke (NSW), Joe in the Andamans and other fictocritical stories, Local Consumptions Publications.
  • Gerald Murnane (VIC), Barley Patch, Giramondo.
Non-fiction award ($15,000) – for a published work of non-fiction demonstrating a command of the subject as well as a fluent and outstanding literary style.
  • James Boyce (TAS), Van Diemen’s Land, Black Inc.
  • David Day(VIC), Andrew Fisher: Prime Minister of Australia, HarperCollins Publishers.
  • Chloe Hooper (VIC), The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island, Penguin/Hamish Hamilton.
  • Jacqueline Kent (NSW), An Exacting Heart: The Story of Hephzibah Menuhin, Penguin/Viking.
  • Iain McCalman (NSW), Darwin’s Armada: How four voyagers to Australasia won the battle for evolution and changed the world, Penguin/Viking.
  • Jill Roe (NSW), Stella Miles Franklin: A Biography, Fourth Estate/HarperCollins.
John Bray poetry award ($15,000) – for a published collection of poetry.
  • Adam Aitken (NSW), Eighth Habitation, Giramondo Poets.
  • Pam Brown (NSW), True Thoughts, Salt Publishing.
  • Martin Harrison (NSW), Wild Bees: New and Selected Poems, University of Western Australia Press.
  • Emma Jones (Aust/UK), The Striped World, Faber and Faber Ltd.
  • Martin Langford (NSW), The Human Project: New and Selected Poems, Puncher and Wattmann Poetry.
  • Bronwyn Lea (QLD), The Other Way Out, Giramondo Poets.
Unpublished manuscript award ($10,000) – South Australian writers only.
  • Deb Kandelaars, Memoirs of a Suburban Girl.
  • Sharon Kernot, Underground Road.
  • Amy T Matthews, End of the Night Girl.
  • Louise Nicholas, The List of Last Remaining.
  • Cameron Raynes, The Dress and Other Stories.
  • Alastair Sarre, Prohibited Zone.
  • Anna Solding, The Hum of Concrete.
Jill Blewett playwright’s award ($10,000) – South Australian writers only.
  • Alan Grace, The Embryos.
  • Duncan Graham, And Burn My Shadow.
  • Nina Pearce, This Place.

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top