2012 South Australian Screen Awards

The 2012 South Australian Screen Awards recognised the best in local filmmaking at an Electro '80s-themed costume gala at the Mercury Cinema on Friday 20 April. 

The local movie and television industry turned out in force for the event, eager to celebrate a strong year in South Australian filmmaking.

Proudly presenting the award for Best Short Film, South Australian Film Corporation CEO Richard Harris said that other states "look to South Australia" and its film industry.

SASA is now in its 13th year of rewarding South Australian filmmaking talent, across the feature film, short film, documentary, animation, digital media, music video and craft categories.

The acclaimed short film The Palace swept the field with six wins, including Best Short Film, Best Direction and Best Screenplay. The Palace has already won numerous awards interstate – including the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Award for Best Short Film.

2012 South Australian Screen Awards winners:

Best Short Film: The Palace – Anthony Maras, Kate Croser & Andros Achilleos
Best Drama: The Palace – Anthony Maras, Kate Croser & Andros Achilleos
Best Documentary: Ball of Light – Sam Collins
Best Comedy: Steak Knife – Chad Leader
Best Animation: Sometimes the Stars – Luke Jurevicius
Best Non-Narrative Film: A Dance in the Garden Reminds Me – Gemma Soloman
Best Music Video: Cut You Out (Hawks of Alba) – Matt Vesley
Innovation in Digital Media: Big Stories, Small Towns – Nick Crowther
Best Feature Film: Shut Up Little Man – Sophie Hyde & Matthew Bate
Best Direction: Anthony Maras (The Palace)
Best Cinematography: Nick Matthews (The Palace)
Best Composition: Michael Darren (Collision)
Best Screenplay: Anthony Maras (The Palace)
Best Sound Design: Pete Best & Scott Illingworth (Stunt Love)
Best Editing: Anthony Maras (The Palace)
Best Performance: Roy Phung (Suburban Samurai)
Best Production Design: Bowen Ellames (Beta)
MRC Emerging Producer: Kirsty Stark
Emerging Young Filmmaker: Sam King
People’s Choice Award: I Am Orpheus (Adam Carter)

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top