2013 South Australian Screen Awards Announces Winners

An image from ‘The Ride’ – Winner of Best Feature

The Media Resource Centre, South Australia’s centre for screen culture development, is delighted to announce the winners of the 2013 South Australian Screen Awards (SASAs), which took place at The Mercury Cinema on Wednesday night.

Documentaries films featured strongly this year with The SAFC Award for Best Short Film going to Ronnie Chin and Frazer Dempsey for Who Owns The Street and award for Best Feature to Sandra Cook for The Ride. Daniel Philips’ drama, The Martyr was the stand-out of the night scooping an extraordinary seven of the SASA’s eighteen awards. Neale Irwin picked up Best Comedy and Best Screenplay for his mockumentary, Agora.

“The quality and diversity of this year’s films made choices really difficult for this year’s judges,” said Media Resource Centre Director Gail Kovatseff. “It’s so exciting to see so many of the filmmakers the MRC has nurtured and supported now delivering world class films and telling local and international stories in ways that engage audiences worldwide.”

In Who Owns The Street, produced by Precede Pictures, Adelaide street artist Peter Drew set out on a mission to try and resolve the contradiction of being both rewarded and punished by different arms of the same government for his street art by confronting both the law makers and the law breakers.

The Ride, directed and produced by Sandra Cook, follows four Aussie blokes who trade their wheelchairs for quad bikes and ride 5000km across the desolate heart of Australia to visit the crash sites where they were injured as young men.

The Martyr, produced by Anomaly Media and part funded through a Pozible crowd funding campaign, explores the moral dilemmas of a rebel guerilla torturer, who must extract information from government soldiers by any means necessary but on this day the soldier is his friend. The film won seven awards including Best Drama.

Agora, a Mockumentary/Comedy about a suburban garage sale directed by Neale Irwin, which picked up awards for Best Comedy and Best Screenplay, was made as part of the Media Resource Centre’s First Shot Initiative, assisting filmmakers who haven’t previously received any production funding.

Now in its 14th year as SA’s premiere screen awards, SASA continues to reward excellence and outstanding achievements from South Australian-based filmmakers.

SASA 2013 Award Winners

Best Music Video: Desert (Messrs) – Co Producers/Directors Nima Nabili rad and Dan Principe

Best Animation: Sleight of Hand -Producer Richard Chataway; Director/Writer/Animator: Michael Cusack

Best Documentary: Meatwork – Producer Daniel Joyce; Director Madeleine Parry

Best Comedy: Agora – Producer Pia West; Writer/Director: Neale Irwin

Best Drama: The Martyr – Producers Daniel Phillips and Daniel Vink; Director/Writer: Daniel Phillips

Best Feature Film: The Ride – Producer/Director Sandra Cook

Carclew Youth Arts – MRC Young Filmmaker Award: Sara West

MRC Emerging Producer Award: Eleanor Jean Perry

MRC Independent Vision Award: Daniel Phillips, The Martyr

Best Production Design: Annalisa Francesca, The Martyr

Best Sound Design: Andrew Graue, The Martyr

Best Composition: Sean Timms, Sleight of Hand

Best Cinematography: David Gregan,The Martyr

Best Editing: Daniel Vink, The Martyr

Best Performance: Darcy Crouch, River Water

Best Screenplay: Neale Irwin, Agora

Best Direction: Daniel Phillips, The Martyr

Best Short Film: Who Owns the Street, Producers/Writers/Directors Ronnie Chin and Frazer Dempsey

More News

To Top