Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards Finalists Announced! • Glam Adelaide

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards Finalists Announced!

Finalists have been revealed and there is some serious South Australian talent being recognised!


Feature image sourced via Facebook @magnt.net.au

68 Australian artists have been hand-picked as finalists for the 2019 Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards (NATSIAA).

The most illustrious and long-standing Indigenous art awards received 280 entries across both regional and urban areas.

Northern Territory leads the way by claiming 24 finalists, while South Australia boasts a healthy 18.

Our homegrown Picassos include Nici Cumpston who explores the suffering of regions affected by drought and rising sea levels, Damien Shen who offers a unique Aboriginal Chinese heritage imprint to his talent and James Tylor who is an avid photographer focused on commenting on opening viewers eyes to a new Australian Identity.

South Australian finalists include:

  • Betty Kuntiwa Pumani
  • Carlene Thompson
  • Damien Shen
  • Ernabella Arts Collaborative
  • Iluwanti Ken
  • James Tylor
  • Kaylene Whiskey
  • Lynette Lewis
  • Matjangka (Nyukana) Norris
  • Mick Wikilyiri
  • Nici Cumpston
  • Nyumiti Burton
  • Pepai Jangala Carroll
  • Peter Mungkuri
  • Rupert Jack
  • Wawiriya Burton
  • Witjiti George
  • Yaritji Young

The main Telstra Art Award of $50,000 will be awarded to the work that is the most outstanding across all categories.

A prize of $5000 will be awarded to each work that wins the Telstra Bark Painting Award, Telstra General Painting Award, Wandjuk Marika Memorial Three-Dimensional Award (Sponsored by Telstra), Telstra Works on Paper Award, Telstra Multimedia Award and the Telstra Emerging Artist Award.

As new emerging artists continue to evolve, Museum and Art Gallery Northern Territory’s (MAGNT) curator of Aboriginal art Luke Scholes is happy viewing the visible shift, thanks hugely to the awards.

“The Emerging Artist category continues to breathe new life into the Awards and the broader arts sector. It’s rewarding to profile these trailblazing artists and to share their skill, voice, and cultures.”

The winners of the 36th Telstra NATSIAA are set to be announced at Darwin’s MAGNT Bullocky Point facility on Friday 9 August as part of the opening night and awards ceremony.

The general exhibition will be open from Saturday 10 August to Sunday 3 November.

Click here for more information.

Hot News