Adelaide Hills Citizen of the Year Award recipients announced for 2024

This year’s winners are a true inspiration to us all, and were selected from a pool of high calibre nominees.

More than a dozen locals will be honoured today at Australia Day ceremonies in Gumeracha, Stirling, and Uraidla. The 2024 Citizen of the Year Awards are a prestigious recognition of individuals and organizations that have significantly contributed to the local community, highlighted the extraordinary efforts of these unsung heroes.

Mayor Jan-Claire Wisdom, at the heart of these celebrations, said “Challenging times give rise to extraordinary people contributing extraordinary service within our community. To acknowledge these worthy recipients with a 2024 Citizen of the Year Award is to pay homage to their hard work.” She added, “This year’s winners are a true inspiration to us all, and were selected from a pool of high calibre nominees. Our community is fortunate to have so many generous volunteers who donate their time and knowledge as active citizens.”

Among the awardees, Dagmar Skipworth stood out as the Adelaide Hills Council Citizen of the Year 2024. As a founding member of the Imagine Uraidla committee, Dagmar transformed the organization from its grassroots beginnings into a thriving community movement. Mayor Wisdom commended her efforts, saying, “Dagmar’s work has been invaluable, she has brought her business experience, passion for community connection and care as a steward, organiser and loyal contributor. Her fellow committee members and nominators speak very highly of her and the significant impact she has made to her community.”

The youth of Adelaide Hills were also celebrated, with 26-year-old Georgia McDonnell from Upper Sturt receiving the Young Citizen of the Year Award. As the Vice-President of the Upper Sturt Soldiers Memorial Hall, Georgia was recognized for injecting new energy into the community. “Taking on a leadership role by being elected as vice-president of the local hall has breathed new life into the community,” Mayor Wisdom noted. “Georgia took the lead on organising many successful events and also raising funds for the Upper Sturt Soldiers Memorial Hall and the local CFS – her energy and determination is contagious.”

The Community Event of the Year 2024 accolade was shared between the Houghton Spring Fair and the Uraidla and Summertown Show. Both events have become cornerstones in the region, celebrating local talent, diversity, and the best of the Adelaide Hills community. The Houghton Spring Fair, an annual event running for five years, and the Uraidla and Summertown Show, a key annual event, both reflect the spirit and values of the township and its people.

In addition to these awards, six Civic Awards were presented to locals who have made outstanding contributions through acts of kindness and generosity. These recognitions serve as a testament to the strong sense of community and the unwavering dedication of the Adelaide Hills residents, making their locality a remarkable place to live and grow.

Through these awards, the Adelaide Hills Council honours individual achievements while also fostering a sense of unity and pride among its residents.

The award winners are:

Citizen of the Year: Dagmar Skipworth

Young Citizen of the Year: Georgia McDonnell

Community Event of the Year: Houghton Spring Fair

Community Event of the Year: Uraidla and Summertown Show

Award for Active Citizenship: Karen Warner

Award for Active Citizenship: Sylvia Ullmer and  Rob Hawke

Award for Active Citizenship: Pip McGowan

Award for Active Citizenship: Bruce Ind

Award for Active Citizenship: Oakbank Market

Award for Active Citizenship: Charleston Park Run

More News

To Top