Adelaide’s Walk Of Fame Star Recipients Announced

The full list of creative artists receiving Adelaide’s Walk Of Fame stars has been revealed, from a pool of people whose work has graced the stages of the Adelaide Festival Centre.

Adelaide Festival Centre’s Walk of Fame is one step closer to realisation, with the public and critics’ star recipients being announced today. The star-studded walkway will celebrate the creative artists whose work has graced the stages of the Adelaide Festival Centre and is a key part of the Riverbank precinct redevelopment project. 
The public selection process received overwhelming support from the people of South Australia, who were keen to vote for their favourite star from the list of over 3,000 artists who have performed at Adelaide Festival Centre since it began operations in 1973.  The critics’ choice, a list focusing on Australian artists, was decided upon by a panel of experts, including South Australia’s Performing Arts Collection veteran Jo Peoples. Between the public and critics’ choice, two stars for each year between 1973-2015 have been selected –  refer to the full list below.
In addition to honouring the great performers who have graced the Festival Centre stage, the Walk of Fame will create a new tourist attraction for the State. According to Minister for the Arts The Hon Jack Snelling MP, “Not only will the Walk of Fame provide new access to Adelaide Festival Centre and Dunstan Playhouse from the River Torrens side of the building, it will also add a unique and vibrant attraction to the precinct for locals and tourists alike. The redevelopment of the Adelaide Festival Centre and the overall Riverbank Precinct will reinforce Adelaide as a destination for the arts around the globe.”
Australian cabaret icon and key supporter of the Walk of Fame, Mr Barry Humphries will be commemorated in the boulevard of stars for his 1979 show at Adelaide Festival Centre, A Night with Dame Edna and A Handful of Cobbers. Mr Humphries says in regards to being featured on the walk, “People have been walking all over me for years. So what’s new?”
An additional star will be selected for each year of operation by the Adelaide Festival Centre Trust, which will be unveiled with the opening of the new walkway. The Walk of Fame is a significant part of the Adelaide Festival Centre redevelopment and is set to become a focal point of the new look Riverbank Precinct.
Douglas Gautier, Adelaide Festival Centre CEO & Artistic Director says, “The Walk of Fame is an exciting project for Adelaide Festival Centre, one which will allow us to truly celebrate and acknowledge great artists. By getting the people of Adelaide involved with the selection process we can be sure a diverse and well represented group of artists are chosen.”
Former Adelaide Cabaret Festival Artistic Director, Kate Ceberano couldn’t be more excited about her star for her 2009 performance Kate Ceberano: Love & the Bottom Line, “I’m very excited to be part of the landscape (literally) of South Australia! It’s such an honour and I’m thrilled that in my lifetime as a performing artist, as a festival director, I feel that I’ve contributed to the arts and to this wonderful State. And written in stone no less…… I’m seriously chuffed!”
Looking to the future, the Walk of Fame pathway will be extended with stars added annually, with the public again being able to vote for their favourite performer at the end of each year.

The full list is as follows;

Ernie Sigley Critics Choice
Julie Anthony Public Vote

Tristam Cary Critics Choice
Robert Helpmann Public Vote

Elizabeth Dalman Critics Choice
John Farnham Public Vote

Joan Sutherland Critics Choice
Cold Chisel Public Vote

Keith Michell Critics Choice
Ruth Cracknell Public Vote

Dennis Olsen Critics Choice
Olivia Newton John Public Vote

John Gaden Critics Choice
Dame Edna (Barry Humphries) Public Vote

Nick Enright Critics Choice
Peter Allen Public Vote

Janet Vernon Critics Choice
Peter Goers Public Vote

Mary Moore Critics Choice
John Wood Public Vote

David Williamson Critics Choice
Geoffrey Rush Public Vote

Thomas Edmonds Critics Choice
Hugo Weaving Public Vote

Bobby Limb Critics Choice
Anthony Warlow Public Vote

Nancye Hayes Critics Choice
Robyn Archer Public Vote

Gale Edwards Critics Choice
Garry McDonald Public Vote

Rosalba Clemente Critics Choice
Peter Combe Public Vote

Marilyn Richardson Critics Choice
The Seekers Public Vote

Paul Blackwell Critics Choice
Anne Wills Public Vote

Shaun Micalleff Critics Choice
Gary Sweet Public Vote

Jim Sharman Critics Choice
Guy Pearce Public Vote

Todd McKenney Critics Choice
Noni Hazlehurst Public Vote

Meryl Tankard Critics Choice
John Williamson Public Vote

Douglas McNicol Critics Choice
Cate Blanchett Public Vote

Patrick White Critics Choice
Rhonda Burchmore Public Vote

Timothy Sexton Critics Choice
Deborah Mailman Public Vote

Graeme Koehne Critics Choice
Brian Gilbertson Public Vote

Benedict Andrews Critics Choice
Billy Connolly Public Vote

Jane Peters Critics Choice
Chrissie Amphlett Public Vote

Andrew Bovell Critics Choice
David Campbell Public Vote

Lucinda Dunn Critics Choice
James Morrison Public Vote

Nicholas Braithwaite Critics Choice
Clive James Public Vote

Arvo Volmer Critics Choice
Charles ‘Bud’ Tingwell Public Vote

Ruby Hunter Critics Choice
Tim Minchin Public Vote

Kasey Chambers Critics Choice
Paul Kelly Public Vote

Johanna Allen Critics Choice
Guy Sebastian Public Vote

Beccy Cole Critics Choice
Doc Neeson Public Vote

Jimmy Barnes Critics Choice
Kate Ceberano Public Vote

Hugh Sheridan Critics Choice
Niki Vasilakis Public Vote

Natsuko Yoshimoto Critics Choice
Glenn Shorrock Public Vote

Geoff Cobham Critics Choice
Tina Arena Public Vote

Leigh Warren Critics Choice
Rachael Leahcar Public Vote

Garry Stewart Critics Choice
Nick Cave Public Vote

Greta Bradman Critics Choice
Adam Hills Public Vote

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top