All The Incredible Photos From This Year's South Australian Architecture Award Winners • Glam Adelaide

All The Incredible Photos From This Year’s South Australian Architecture Award Winners

The full list of winners, and some photos of of the amazing projects and winners from this year’s awards.


This year’s South Australian Architecture Awards recognised projects that have a considerable impact on the communities they serve and demonstrate generosity toward the broader public.

Part of a national awards program run by the Australian Institute of Architects, the presentation was held virtually for the first time this year via a live YouTube stream on 2 July.

Sparkke at the Whitmore by Troppo Architects is this year’s recipient of the Keith Neighbour Award for Commercial Architecture and a Heritage Award. Jurors were particularly impressed with the outstanding architectural interpretation of the strongly held progressive values of this South Australian brand. Its ability to build on the original character of the site was well received with ‘new shop-front openings drawing visitors into the once secretive parlour rooms of the original hotel’ and ‘a transparent, airy, light filled beer hall frontage to the square.’

U City by Woods Bagot was presented the City of Adelaide Prize and an award for Public Architecture for integrating ‘small reminders of the site’s rich history layered throughout the building through material, form and motif’ and delivering ‘generous additions to the public realm at street level by re-establishing Penaluma Place.’

Winner of the Dr John Mayfield Award for Education Architecture, Pembroke Middle School Redevelopment by Grieve Gillett Andersen also received the COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture. Its ambitious spaces were noted by the jury who recognised their nuance in connecting the site to its school community.

Interior Architecture was the hardest fought category this year with 16 entries. Fino Vino by studio-gram was named the Robert Dickson Award winner and lauded for the ‘duality between raw dilapidated tenancy and refined furnishings and interior find(ing) connection with the raw produce and fine food of the restaurant.’

Spinifex House by Khab Architects received the John S Chappel Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New). This unexpected and well-considered house sits in a prominent beach-side streetscape in Adelaide’s west, typically dominated by bulky, larger houses.  Overshadowed by taller neighbours, buffeted by sea breeze and scorched by setting sun, the new house rises to all these challenges with an understated response that is a restrained and tasteful revisit of the modern Australian shack aesthetic.

SA Chapter President Tony Giannone noted the unique situation that this year presented to the SA Awards. He said: “With site visits replaced by online interviews, jurors rose to the challenge and were able to debate and remotely explore the merits of the entries. We have all had to adapt and be flexible to a different delivery mode for the Awards Program this year, however we’re confident in the process and proud to deliver the program despite this year’s extraordinary circumstances.”. He also noted that the Awards Program helps South Australia build on an already strong portfolio of work representative of our South Australian identity.

In total, the jury bestowed 39 honours with named award and award winners in each category now progressing to the National Architecture Awards announced in November.

Full list of winners:

Commercial Architecture

Keith Neighbour Award – Sparkke at the Whitmore by Troppo Architects

Commendation – Walkerville Vet by Khab Architects

Educational Architecture

Dr John Mayfield Award – Pembroke Middle School Redevelopment by Grieve Gillett Andersen

Award – Pulteney Grammar Middle School by JPE Design Studio

Award – Kildare College Brigidine Centre by Walter Brooke

Commendation – Craigmore High School Stem Project by Tridente Boyce

Commendation – St Martin’s Catholic School, New Junior Primary Building by Detail Studio

Commendation – Trinity College Innovation and Creativity School by Detail Studio

Enduring Architecture

Jack Cheesman Award – Nunyara Chapel by Cheesman Doley Brabham and Neighbour


David Saunders Award – Smyth Memorial Chapel by Arcuate Architecture

Award – Sparkke at the Whitmore by Troppo Architects

Commendation – Allied Health Building, Lot 14 by JPE Design Studio

Interior Architecture

Robert Dickson Award – Fino Vino by studio-gram

Award – BHP Adelaide by Woods Bagot

Commendation – Pembroke Middle School Redevelopment by Grieve Gillet Andersen

Commendation – Barr Smith South Redevelopment by ARM Architecture

Commendation – Salisbury Community Hub by HASSELL

Public Architecture

Jack McConnell Award – Salisbury Community Hub by HASSELL

Award – U City by Woods Bagot

Commendation – Payinthi by JPE Design Studio

Commendation – Oaklands Station by Cox Architecture

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)

John Schenk Award – Outside [the] Box by Troppo Architects

Award – Through the Looking-Glass by John Adam Architect

Commendation – Hawthorn Residence by Grieve Gillett Andersen

Commendation – Side Kick by Archaea

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

John S Chappel Award – Spinifex House by Khab Architects

Commendation – Naiko Retreat by Max Pritchard Gunner Architects

Commendation – Fleurieu White House by Taylor Buchtmann Architecture

Commendation – Satoyama Crow’s Nest by John Adam Architect

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Commendation – Kodo Apartments by Woods Bagot

Small Project Architecture

Commendation – Dowie Doole Cellar Door by Scholz Vinall

Sustainable Architecture

Award –  Allied Health Building, Lot 14 by JPE Design Studio

Commendation – Dowie Doole Cellar Door by Scholz Vinall

Commendation – Satoyama Crow’s Nest by John Adam Architect

Urban Design

Gavin Walkley Award – Oaklands Station by COX Architecture and Aspect Studios

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

Award – Pembroke Middle School Redevelopment by Grieve Gillett Andersen

Chapter Prizes

City of Adelaide Prize – U City by Woods Bagot

City of Adelaide Prize Commendation – Part Time Lover by Sans-Arc Studio

City of Adelaide Prize Commendation –Tika Tirka Student Accommodation by Phillips Pilkington Architects

City of Adelaide Prize People’s Choice – St Aloysius College AR Community Mural by Riggs Digital and St Aloysius College Students, Staff and Community

Sir James Irwin President’s Medal – Elizabeth Vines OAM FRAIA

Emerging Architect Prize – Erin Crowden RAIA

Hot News