Film & TV

Call For Entries: 2016 South Australian Screen Awards

2015 SASAs. Photo by Daniel Marks.

South Australia’s Media Resource Centre is inviting SA filmmakers to submit their entries into SA’s highest accolade in film, the 2016 SA Screen Awards.

The Media Resource Centre (MRC), South Australia’s centre for screen culture development, is inviting SA filmmakers to submit their entries into SA’s highest accolade in film, the 2016 South Australian Screen Awards.

Now in its 17th year, the South Australian Screen Awards (or SASAs) exhibit, celebrate, support and promote South Australian talent through the presentation of 20 awards encompassing short film, online media, feature film and emerging local talent.

The awards recognise excellence and innovation across the genre and craft categories including best drama, documentary, animation, cinematography, production design, web series and more. Excellent cash prizes are awarded as well as outstanding equipment, hire and gift packages.

The SASAs are the leading light of screen industry awards in South Australia and have resulted in an impressive number and quality entries over recent years and growing attendance by the film industry’s brightest and best at the award’s annual gala and screening program that runs for a week following the event. The screening program showcases all nominated films and filmmakers across both the craft and genre categories.

With the phenomenal amount of recognition South Australian filmmakers continue to receive in festivals around Australia and internationally, it is anticipated that the standard of entries this year will again be very competitive.

Highlights out of the 2015 SASAs include winning up-and-coming director, Claire Bishop taking out five awards for her elegiac documentary on Whyalla, Iron Child, online sensation Wastelander Panda winning best web series, and the acclaimed Infinite Man winning best feature.

For more information on the Awards, including how to enter, contact Kieran at the MRC on (08) 8410 0979 or email [email protected].

Guidelines and entry forms are available on the Media Resource Centre’s website at

Entry deadline is 29 February 2016 by 4pm. An entry fee of $65 (shorts/online) or $75 (features) is payable at the time of entry. MRC members receive a 25% discount on all fees.

SASA Gala Awards night will be held on 13 May 2016

A public screening programme of the nominated films will screen 14-15 May at the Mercury Cinema.

The Award categories for 2016 are:

Genre Categories – Shorts

  • Best Film
  • Best Drama
  • Best Comedy
  • Best Animation
  • Best Documentary
  • Best Music Video
  • Best Non-Narrative
  • Best Web Series

Craft Categories – Shorts

  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Composition
  • Best Direction
  • Best Editing
  • Best Performance
  • Best Production Design
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Sound Design

Early Career Categories

  • Emerging Young Filmmaker
  • Emerging Producer

Feature Category

  • Best Feature Film (drama or documentary)

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top