Carrick Hill has re-opened after a 17 month, $3.3 million renovation.
Following a $3.3 million renovation Carrick Hill, the 1939 estate and former residence of Sir Edward and Lady Hayward in the Adelaide foothills will re-open to the public from this Saturday 28 November.
The house been closed since July 2019 for the work which has seen the attic (previously inaccessible to the public) stripped out to create a new 75square metre permanent exhibition space.
The space has been named The Wall Gallery in honour of Ian and Pamela Wall, who provided a significant donation towards the renovation.
To honour these major donors the Carrick Hill Foundation commissioned a portrait of Ian and Pamela by leading Australian portraitist Robert Hannaford of Adelaide.
The opening exhibition for The Wall Gallery is entitled Collecting: A Personal View which explores the influence of Sir Kenneth Clark on the both the collections at the Art Gallery of SA and at Carrick Hill.
The exhibition borrows numerous works from AGSA that were acquired by Clark and of course showcases the Hayward’s personal collection. As a cultural institution with its origins as a private residence and collection – this is an intriguing question.’
Collecting: A Personal View features 16 rarely seen works from the AGSA collection as well as works held by Carrick Hill. Curator Kate Davies says, ‘Clark’s innovative approach to art history and connoisseurship changed not only the way we look at pictures, but also how we interacted with art and culture.’
(COVID restrictions apply)