COVID-19 Vaccination Primary Schools Program to open at 40 schools

Beginning on Friday 27 May 2022, the COVID-19 vaccination primary schools program will be operating in 10 schools per week on Fridays and Saturdays only.

The State Government is opening 40 vaccination sites at school across regional and metro South Australia to make vaccinations even more accessible to children and young people.

Vaccination against COVID-19 is the most effective way to reduce severe illness, hospitalisation, and death from infection. As part of the COVID-19 vaccination rollout, all people aged five years of age and older are eligible to receive free vaccination against COVID-19.

“We know how important vaccinations are to the community, and of course to our children. That is why we’ve worked with the Education Department, schools and their communities, to set up these school vaccination hubs across South Australia,” said Minister for Education, Training and Skills Blair Boyer.

“Our goal is to make receiving a vaccination, as simple as possible for families; and having a vaccination clinic at their school – an environment children are familiar with – can help reduce anxiety for any child that might be worried about vaccinations.”

Beginning on Friday 27 May 2022, the COVID-19 vaccination primary schools program will be operating in 10 schools per week on Fridays and Saturdays only – over four weeks – returning nine weeks later to each school to provide the second vaccine dose.

While 93 per cent of the South Australian population aged 12 and above have had two doses of the COVID-19 vaccine, only 71 per cent of the vaccinated eligible population have had a booster dose.

Only 59 per cent of South Australian children aged five to 11 years have had their first dose of COVID-19 vaccine.

“COVID-19 in young children is generally mild, however it is possible that some children could become severely ill and have long term effects following COVID-19 infection,” said Chief Public Health Officer Professor Nicola Spurrier.

“That’s why it’s so important to have our children vaccinated, because it can help prevent children passing the virus onto younger siblings, parents, grandparents and the wider community.

“The opening of these 40 school vaccination hubs is a wonderful way to make accessing vaccinations as easy as possible for families to have their children and themselves vaccinated.”

The Friday vaccination days will only be available to the participating school community including children of the school as well as their families, including older siblings and parents. Parents of students will need to be present and give consent for their child to receive the vaccination.

The Saturday vaccination day will be opened to the wider public in neighbouring communities and schools, offering even more opportunities for people to receive their COVID-19 vaccinations.

There will also be a Community Vaccination Day on Saturday 28 May to make it easier for members of our community to access the COVID-19 vaccine. The day will host additional places to get vaccinated, and a free transport service from councils for those who find it difficult to visit a vaccination clinic. No bookings will be required at SA Health vaccination clinics, including all additional pop-up clinics in primary schools and community centres.

The full list vaccination and clinic sites are available here:

  • City of Salisbury
  • City of Campbelltown
  • City of Playford
  • City of Tea Tree Gully
  • City of Port Adelaide Enfield
  • City of West Torrens
  • Port Pirie Regional Council
  • Adelaide Plains Council
  • Barossa Council
  • Australian Red Cross – Adelaide, Port Augusta, Whyalla, Port Lincoln, Berri, Pt Pirie

School Vaccination Hub Sites

  • Burton Primary
  • Littlehampton Primary*
  • Playford Primary
  • Grange Primary
  • Goodwood Primary
  • Marryatville Primary
  • McDonald Park Primary*
  • Woodend Primary School
  • St John the Apostle
  • Good Shepherd Para Vista PS
  • Aldinga Beach Primary
  • Bordertown Primary*
  • Greenwith Primary
  • Flagstaff Hill PS
  • Augusta Park Primary*
  • Blackforest Primary
  • John Hartley School B-6
  • Largs Bay Primary
  • Glen Osmond PS
  • Risdon Park Primary*
  • Berri Primary*
  • Hincks Ave Primary*
  • Pooraka PS
  • Brighton Primary
  • Elizabeth Vale Primary
  • Magill School
  • Parafield Gardens Primary
  • Richmond PS
  • Woodcroft Primary School
  • Bethany Christian School
  • Coorara PS
  • East Adelaide School
  • Elizabeth North Primary
  • Port Lincoln Primary*
  • Ceduna Area School*
  • Glenelg Primary
  • Kilkenny Primary
  • Whitefriars Catholic School
  • St Augustine’s Parish School
  • Redeemer Lutheran School*

*regional schools

Want more news from Glam Adelaide?

• Follow us on Facebook
• Follow us on Twitter
• Follow us on Instagram

Get the latest news in your inbox
• Subscribe to our eNews

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top