Film & TV

Judy Potter new Chair of the SAFC Board

Judy PotterThe South Australian Film Corporation (SAFC) today announced appointment of Judy Potter as the new Chair of the SAFC board, following Cheryl Bart’s departure earlier this week after more than ten years at the helm.

Minister assisting the Minister for the Arts Chloe Fox said of Judy’s appointment:

“I would like to congratulate Judy on her new appointment to one of the most dynamic screen agencies in Australia. Judy has an extraordinary understanding of the local arts scene, and of the conditions which prevail in South Australia. She is perfectly positioned to take the South Australian Film Corporation to the next level, establishing the Adelaide Studios as the pre-eminent studios of their kind in Australia and building on the success that the SAFC has enjoyed in recent years.”

Judy Potter said:

“I look forward to Chairing the SAFC and continuing the great work that has been achieved under the leadership of previous Chairman Cheryl Bart. The great legacy of films and facilities that Cheryl leaves behind provides strong foundations for the organisation as it confronts the many challenges facing the film industry in the future.

The job from here will be making the Adelaide Studios work, and leveraging them to build the local industry into a thriving, exciting film production sector, and one that continues to contribute to the vibrancy of both the city of Adelaide, as well as the State.”

Judy is Chairperson of Adelaide Fringe Festival, Adelaide Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium, as well as the inaugural Adelaide Central Market Authority. She is also the Director and State President of Musica Viva and the Duke of Edinburgh Awards. She has been engaged by the joint venture HYLC (Hansen & Yuncken – Leighton Contractors) since early 2009 as a consultant on the new Royal Adelaide Hospital, with her previous roles including Chief Executive Officer of SA Great, Director/CE of Carclew Youth Arts Centre, and the South Australian Youth Arts Board. Judy is also Consultant to Arts SA/Minister for Arts on the ‘start up’ and implementation of Windmill Performing Arts Company and a Trainer in Management, Leadership and group work for DEFET.

Other recent appointments to the SAFC Board include Chris Ward, Susan Mitchell and Adrian Tisato. They join current SAFC Board members, Bridget Ikin, Des Monaghan, Vivienne Skinner and Anthony Maras.

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top