Popular SA regional towns take out top honours in tourism awards

Renmark, Wallaroo, and Quorn have been named South Australia’s Top Tourism Towns and will be representing SA at the national awards this year.

Pictured: Quorn (images supplied)

South Australia’s Top Tourism Towns have been revealed, with towns from the Riverland, Yorke Peninsula and Flinders Ranges regions taking out top honours.

Renmark received the Top Tourism Town accolade. Wallaroo took out the dual honour of both Small Tourism Town Award and the Peoples’ Choice Award, presented to the town that receives the most consumer votes. Quorn took out the inaugural Tiny Tourism Town Award.

The announcement was made by Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC, Governor of South Australia, at a Government House reception for representatives of the 20 finalist towns.  

The Top Tourism Town program, delivered by South Australia’s peak tourism body, the Tourism Industry Council South Australia (TiCSA), recognises towns that offer amazing visitor experiences and are committed to working collectively to increase visitation to their region.

Eoin Loftus, TiCSA’s Chair, praised South Australia’s regions and congratulated the finalists and winners.

“A big congratulations to our Top Tourism Town Award recipients. Our regions overall have attracted significant visitor expenditure throughout this COVID period, proving their resilience and important contributions to our state’s economy. It is fantastic to be celebrating and recognising our state’s tourism towns,” said Mr Loftus.

Andy Glen, Chair of the South Australian Visitor Information Centre Network said the Network is delighted to have supported the program and has been overwhelmed by the response.

“We are extremely proud of our Visitor Information Centre members for assisting towns to enter, the quality of the submissions, and the overall benefit that entrants will receive from their participation,” said Mr Glen.

“Congratulations to each category winner along with all entrants – South Australia is truly a great state to work, live and play.”

Mayor Angela Evans, President of the Local Government Association of South Australia and Mayor at City of Charles Sturt, said the LGA was proud to have partnered again with TiCSA for the 2022 Top Tourism Town Program.

“Regional councils and local businesses have worked hard to maintain and highlight their visitor experiences, so we’re thrilled to be involved in the Top Tourism Town Awards and celebrate all that our state has to offer,” said Mayor Evans.

The three winning towns will go on to represent South Australia at the national Australian Top Tourism Town Awards later this year.

More News

To Top