Rugby Sevens kick off at Adelaide Oval 19-21 March

Rugby Sevens 495x280

The International Rugby Sevens Adelaide 2010 will again kick off under Adelaide Oval’s lights on Friday 19th March at 5.30pm, giving Adelaide CBD workers and Rugby fans from across the country the perfect start to a weekend festival of Rugby.

The biggest carnival in Australian Rugby is back in Adelaide – and this time wearing an Olympic badge of honour! Late last year the International Olympic Committee voted that Rugby, in the Sevens format, will make a return to the Olympic fold for the 2016 and 2020 Olympics, putting an ever brighter spotlight on the Adelaide Sevens.

The Adelaide Sevens involves 16 international teams competing for points that go towards the International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens series. Eight tournaments make up the IRB series, starting on Dec 4-5 in Dubai, and ending on 29-30 May in Edinburgh.

The 16 teams are split into 4 pools. Following completion of all the pool matches, the first and second placed teams in each pool progress to the Cup Championship.
The third and fourth placed teams of each pool progress to the Bowl Championship with all teams moved into a knockout phase. The winners of each game move into semi finals and then finals.

Each team is made up of 12 players; seven on the field during the match, with a reserve bench of five.
Each game runs for 2 x 7 minute halves with a 2 minute half time; the final game of the tournament is 2 x 10 minute halves.

For more information and ticket prices see

More News

To Top