SA Restaurant And Catering Award Winners Announced

The winners have been named for the 2012 Restaurant & Catering Awards for Excellence at a gala dinner attended by Premier Jay Weatherill last night at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

South Australia‟s „best of the best‟ were honoured for their outstanding contribution to the hospitality industry in front of 1200 dignitaries and guests. Restaurant & Catering SA‟s Chief Executive Officer Sally Neville said the Awards this year introduced two new categories including Best Bar and Best Bakery/Patisserie.

“The winners are to be congratulated for their professionalism and hard work, servicing locals as well as interstate and overseas visitors,” Ms Neville said.

“We certainly have been overwhelmed this year with the 280 entries received for the Awards, which is the highest on record and up five per cent compared to last year,” she said.

Assaggio Ristorante at Hyde Park was named Restaurant Of The Year, while Best Chef was awarded to Chung Jae Lee at Mapo Korean Restaurant on Gouger Street, Adelaide.

The Individual Hall Of Fame Award was won by Norberto Spagnolo from Buenos Aires Brasserie on Hutt Street, Adelaide for his significant and outstanding contribution to the State‟s hospitality industry.

The prestigious Lifetime Achiever Award was presented to Leo Schadegg from Alphutte Restaurant whose venue has become a landmark for the business lunch diner.

2012 Winners and Categories:

Restaurant Of The Year
Assaggio Ristorante, Hyde Park

Popular Choice
Press* Food & Wine, Adelaide

Best Bakery/Patisserie
Muratti Cakes & Gateaux, Prospect

Best Bar
Botanic Bar, Adelaide

Hall Of Fame – Individual
Norberto Spagnolo – Buenos Aires Brasserie, Hutt Street Adelaide

Hall Of Fame – Italian
Auge Ristorante – Grote Street, Adelaide

Hall Of Fame – Regional
Pipers of Penola – Penola

Hall Of Fame – Seafood
Blanc Bistro & Grill – North Adelaide

Best Chef
Chung Jae Lee – Mapo Korean Restaurant, Adelaide

Best Apprentice Cook
Nathan Freeman – Intercontinental Adelaide

Best Employee
Wilson Lim – Nu Thai Restaurant, Adelaide

Best Employer
Sophie Zervas – The White House Adelaide Hills, Hahndorf

Best Maitre D’
Sharon Romeo – Fino Restaurant, Willunga

Best Breakfast
The Sebel Playford, Adelaide

Best Asian
My Tho City, Hindmarsh

Best Cafe
Assaggio Cafe, Campbelltown

Best Chinese
From Orient, Adelaide

Best Coffee/Tea House
Argo on the Parade, Norwood

Best Contemporary Australian
North Restaurant – Adelaide Casino

Best European
d‟Artagnan Restaurant, North Adelaide

Best Family
Sushi Train Welland Plaza, Welland

Best Greek
Zucca Greek Mezze, Glenelg

Best Indian
Dhaba at the Spice Kitchen, Marryatville

Best Informal
Vino Ristorante, Unley

Best Italian
Assaggio Ristorante, Hyde Park

Best New
Press* Food & Wine, Adelaide

Best Pizza
Original Hahndorf Pizza House, Hahndorf

Best Regional
Vintners Bar & Grill, Angaston

Best Restaurant in a Hotel/Motel/Resort
The Sebel Playford, Adelaide

Best Restaurant in a Pub/Club/Tavern
The Marquis, Adelaide

Best Restaurant in a Winery
The Kitchen Door @Penny‟s Hill Winery, McLaren Vale

Best Seafood
Louca‟s Seafood & Grill, Adelaide

Best Speciality
Red Ochre Grill, North Adelaide

Best Steak
The Barn Steakhouse, Mount Gambier

Best Thai
Toptai, North Adelaide

Botantic Gardens Restaurant, Adelaide

Caterer Of The Year
National Wine Centre

Best Event Caterer

Best Function/Convention
Adelaide Convention Centre

Best Industrial/Institutional Caterer
Scolarest – Flinders Housing

Best Site/Contract Caterer
Eurest – HP

Best Small Caterer
Hand Made Catering

Best Venue Caterer
Epicure – State Library

Best Wedding Caterer
National Wine Centre

Best Wine List
Apothecary 1878, Adelaide

Best Sommelier
Marcel Bellenger – The Marquis, Adelaide

Service Provider
H & L Australia

Jacobs Creek Visitors Centre

Professional Development
Hilton Adelaide

Product Supplier
Negociants Australia/Samuel Smith & Son

SA Life

Establishments that enter the Awards are judged by a team of trained judges who anonymously visit various venues over a three month period. Judges refer to the RCSA‟s specific selection criteria which includes the quality of food and presentation, facilities and value for money when marking and deciding a winner.

The winners (except from the Informal and hospitality categories) will now go on to compete against other State winners at the National 2012 Restaurant & Catering Awards for Excellence to be held in Brisbane in October.

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top