Food Drink

South Aussie Talent Named In Search For Australia’s Greatest Hospitality Heroes

WHO are australia’s greatest food talents and hospitality heroes? The Gourmet Traveller Restaurant Awards finalists have just been revealed. 

Are you hungry, Australia? Prepare to meet the nation’s best: a crack team of professional eaters have tasted and rated the best 400 restaurant around the country bring you the finalists in the Gourmet Traveller Restaurant Awards, in the August issue of Gourmet Traveller, on sale now.

Winners will be announced and celebrated at an exclusive awards event held on Wednesday 22 August in Sydney at the celebrated French brasserie Restaurant Hubert and published in the new edition of Gourmet Traveller’s annual Restaurant Guide, presented by Vittoria Coffee, on sale with the September issue on Thursday 23 August, 2018.

Three finalists have been announced in each of the seven hotly contested categories: New Restaurant of the Year, Bar of the Year, Best New Talent, Wine List of the Year, Maître d’ of the Year, Sommelier of the Year and Regional Restaurant of the Year.

Best of all, there’s two fantastic South Aussies, sitting alongside the Nation’s best. Oliver Edwards from The Summertown Aristologist and Sarah Feehan from D’Arenberg Cube are among two other nominees in each of their categories, and are doing SA proud.

The coveted Restaurant of the Year award will be announced on the night, along with the peer-voted Chef of the Year and Outstanding Contribution to Hospitality.


The Finalists

New Restaurant of the Year

*           Rosetta, Sydney, NSW
*           Laura, Mornington Peninsula, Vic
*           Bert’s, Sydney, NSW

Bar of the Year

*           Jacoby’s, Sydney, NSW
*           Galah, Melbourne, Vic
*           Liberté, Albany, WA

Best New Talent

*           Oliver Edwards, The Summertown Aristologist, Adelaide Hills, SA
*           Ali Currey-Voumard, The Agrarian Kitchen Eatery, New Norfolk, Tas
*           Louis Couttoupes, Bar Rochford, ACT

Wine List of the Year

*           Franklin, Hobart, Tas
*           Gerald’s Bar, Melbourne, Vic
*           Blackbird, Brisbane, Qld

Maître d’ of the Year

*           The team at Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, Melbourne, Vic
*           Michael Nicolian, Continental, Sydney, NSW
*           Sarah Feehan, D’Arenberg Cube, McLaren Vale, SA

Sommelier of the Year

*           Emma Farrelly, State Buildings, Perth, WA
*           Ned Brooks, Paper Bird, Sydney, NSW
*           Jane Lopes, Attica, Melbourne, Vic

Regional Restaurant of the Year

*           Igni, Geelong, Vic
*           Brae, Birregurra, Vic
*           Laura, Mornington Peninsula, Vic

The Gourmet Traveller Restaurant Guide, Australia’s original national restaurant guide, contains independent reviews of the 400 best restaurants around Australia, tested and rated by Gourmet Traveller’s team of reviewers.

To Top