TDU: Full BMC Racing Team Line Up Confirmed

The BMC Racing Team that will assist Cadel Evans to contest the 2015 Santos Tour Down Under for one final time before he retires next year has been confirmed.

© BMC Switzerland

© BMC Switzerland

The BMC Racing Team that will assist Cadel Evans to contest the 2015 Santos Tour Down Under for one final time before he retires next year has been confirmed.

Cadel Evans will be joined by a strong line up including experienced Swiss riders Michael Schär and Danilo Wyss as well as local champion Rohan Dennis and another fellow Australian, reigning world Under 23 time trial champion, Campbell Flakemore, who is new to the team.

Race Director, Mike Turtur said he was looking forward to welcoming the BMC Racing Team back to Adelaide.

“We are expecting the locals and cycling fans alike to line the roads not only to cheer on Cadel Evans but also our own hometown talent Rohan Dennis,” said Mike Turtur.

“The atmosphere will be fantastic as fans line the route to watch the race unfold.”

Fabio Baldato, Sport Director said the team is really excited to be racing at what will be Evans’ last UCI WorldTour race.

“The team will be working hard for Cadel to support him to do his best. The course will be challenging but I think he can perform well just one more time,” said Baldato.

Local lad Rohan Dennis will take to the start line for the fourth time in his hometown and understands the pressure to perform and how special it will be to race in his BMC colours in front of his family and friends.

“I am fortunate to be racing alongside Cadel, working for him and the team as well as learning from him how he handles the pressure both on and off the bike before he hangs up the bike from WorldTour racing,” said Dennis.

“Every time I compete at this race, it is a special event for not just me but for all Australians. It is bigger and bigger every year, being on Willunga Hill is as close as most Australians will ever get to experience what it is really like, the crowds, the atmosphere on a Tour de France mountain finish.”

It is always nice to welcome a local to the start line as racing at home is always special says Turtur.

“Rohan Dennis has performed well at the Santos Tour Down Under in the past and we are looking forward to seeing what he can do next year. In 2012, he won both the King of the Mountain and Young Rider classifications at the event.”

Former Swiss national road champion Michael Schär will bring his Grand Tour experience to Adelaide having competed at the 2009 Vuelta a España and the 2010 Giro d’Italia as well as helping Evans win the 2011 Tour de France.

Danilo Wyss first rode in Adelaide in 2010 and since then has completed seven Grand Tours, including the Giro d’Italia for five consecutive years 2010 – 2014.

Young Tasmanian talent, Campbell Flakemore will make his WorldTour debut with the BMC Racing Team at the event and can’t wait to be racing at home.

“Cadel Evans is massive in Australia and to be a part of his team at his last WorldTour race is really exciting, I am just looking forward to being a part of the whole show,” said Campbell.

The BMC Racing Team competing at the 2015 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by sport director Fabio Baldato (Italy) and includes riders: Cadel Evans (Australia), Michael Schär (Switzerland), Peter Stetina (USA), Danilo Wyss (Switzerland), Silvan Dillier (Switzerland), Campbell Flakemore (Australia) and Rohan Dennis (Australia).

The Santos Tour Down Under is Australia’s premier international cycling race and will be staged in and around Adelaide, South Australia from 17 to 25 January 2015. The Team Presentation on January 17 will begin at 6pm and be followed by a free concert at 7.30pm featuring ARIA-award winning group Sheppard.

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top