WOMADelaide Is On This Week!

Prepare yourselves for what may just be the best WOMADelaide line up ever!

We think that you should prepare yourselves for what is set to be the biggest and best WOMADelaide yet!

It is one of Australia’s most successful festivals, and today it has announced the final 11 international and Australian artists for its 20th installment, which will be held 11-14 March in Botanic Park, Adelaide.

Joining an already outstanding lineup including the pioneer of ‘the French Touch’ sound, St Germain, as well as Angélique Kidjo, performing an Australian exclusive show with a 68-piece Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, the American singer-songwriter John Grant and the politically-charged Asian Dub Foundation is the Grammy Award-winning US hip-hop trio De La Soul.

Forming in New York in 1987 and breaking into a scene dominated at the time by a machismo, ‘street-gang’ mentality and uncompromising lyrics, De La Soul’s playful lyricism, whimsy and irreverence, mixed with samples from children’s records and a myriad of other sources, changed the face of hip-hop.

De La Soul has gained respect from all corners of the music industry over the past 20 years, with their musical innovations not only reverberating throughout the hip hop industry, but the jazz, funk and soul scenes as well.

De La Soul’s eighth studio album will be released a month after their exclusive Australian appearance at WOMADelaide.

Announced alongside De La Soul is arguably the world’s most recorded singer and the first Indian artist to be nominated for a Grammy Award, Asha Bhosle, who returns to WOMADelaide after an eight-year absence for her ‘Last Empress’ farewell tour.

Bhosle’s career spans over six decades and 12,000 recorded songs and she is revered by millions as the most respected Bollywood playback singer ever. Equally comfortable singing traditional ghazals, bhajans and Indian pop songs, Bhosle is renowned for her extraordinary vocal range.

“Being able to present De La Soul with a full live band, plus the legendary Asha Bhosle and her Bollywood miniorchestra in the same festival is a real thrill and shows the incredible diversity of the festival lineup,” said Director, Ian Scobie.

Also announced today are the ARIA Award-winning Australian artists Sarah Blasko and Alpine, as well as 2015 Mercury Prize nominee Eska from the UK and singing a capella in the Pitjantjatjara language, the Choir of the APY (Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara) Lands.

Also announced today are:
• Ainslie Wills (Australia)
• Ajak Kwai (Sudan/Australia)
• Marcellus Pittman – DJ (USA)
• 숨[su:m] (South Korea)
• Tek Tek Ensemble (Australia)

They will join the already announced artists:
• 47SOUL (Palestine/Syria/Jordan)
• All Our Exes Live in Texas (Australia)
• Alsarah & the Nubatones (Sudan/USA)
• Angelique Kidjo (Benin) & the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra (Australia)
• Asian Dub Foundation (UK)
• Australian Dance Theatre “The Beginning of Nature” (Australia)
• Calexico (USA)
• The Cat Empire (Australia)
• Cedric Burnside Project (USA)
• DakhaBrakha (Ukraine)
• Datakae – Electrolounge (Australia)
• Debashish Bhattacharya (India)
• Diego el Cigala (Spain)
• Djuki Mala (Australia)
• Edmar Castañeda Trio (Colombia/USA)
• Ester Rada (Ethiopia/Israel)
• Hazmat Modine (USA)
• Husky (Australia)
• Ibeyi (Cuba/France)
• The Jerry Cans (Canada)
• John Grant (USA)
• Kev Carmody (Australia)
• Ladysmith Black Mambazo (South Africa)
• Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat (Iran)
• Marlon Williams & the Yarra Benders (NZ/Australia)
• Miles Cleret – DJ (UK)
• Mojo Juju (Australia)
• Mortisville vs The Chief – Electroloung (Australia)
• Mountain Mocha Kilimanjaro (Japan)
• NO ZU (Australia)
• The Once (Canada)
• Orange Blossom (France/Egypt)
• Osunlade – DJ (USA)
• Quarter Street (Australia)
• Problems – Electrolounge (Australia)
• Radical Son (Tonga/Australia)
• Ripley (Australia)
• Sadar Bahar – DJ (USA)
• Sampa the Great (Zambia/Australia)
• Savina Yannatou & Primavera en Salonico (Greece)
• Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 (Nigeria)
• Songhoy Blues (Mali)
• Spiro (UK)
• The Spooky Men’s Chorale (Australia)
• St Germain (France)
• The Strides (Australia)
• Surahn (Australia)
• Tulegur (China)
• Violent Femmes (USA)
• Wasted Wanderers (Australia)
• Zeequil – Electrolounge (Australia)

The festival’s site and KidZone artists include –
• Acrojou “The Wheel House” (UK)
• Fair Play Comedy “Fairly Fresh Fish Company” (UK)
• The Future Postal Service (Australia)
• Jeremy Deller’s “Sacrilege” (UK)
• The Miraculous Theatre Company “Romantic Botanic” (UK)

And, from The Planet Talks program, presented by The University of South Australia –
• Amelia Telford (Australia)
• Daniel Spencer (Australia)
• David Suzuki (Canada)
• Dee Madigan (Australia)
• Dr Karl Kruszelnicki (Australia)
• Felicia Whiting (Australia)
• First Dog on The Moon (Australia)
• Indira Naidoo (Australia)
• Jane Caro (Australia)
• John Hewson (Australia)
• Naomi Oreskes (USA)
• Ross Garnaut (Australia)
• Simon Hackett (Australia)
• Sir Tim Smit (UK)
• Tanya Monro (Australia)

WOMADelaide, 11-14 March 2016, Botanic Park, Adelaide, South Australia. For information and tickets visit

More News

To Top