Three South Australian footy greats named in Australian Football Hall of Fame

Russell Ebert, Matthew Pavlich and Michael Taylor were officially added to the AFL Hall of Fame making up a total of eight players to join in 2022.

Port Adelaide legend, Russell Ebert OAM, was one of three South Australian football greats to be inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame last night.

Eight months after his passing, the late South Australian icon was named alongside Matthew Pavlich and Michael Taylor from SA to make up the total of eight players inducted into the 2022 Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Ebert, who passed of cancer in November last year, is the Hall of Fame’s 32nd official legend into the prestigious Australian Football Hall of Fame which was announced at a ceremony in Melbourne last night.

SA Football Commission Chairman Rob Kerin paid tribute to Port Adelaide and SANFL all-time great Russell Ebert, congratulating his family and the Port Adelaide Football Club on his elevation to the ultimate official status as a Legend of Australian football.

”Russell is revered nationally as being among the best all-time players of our game so it is only fitting that he has now been recognised on the national stage in this way,” Mr Kerin said.

Mr Kerin also extended congratulations to Fremantle and Woodville-West Torrens great Pavlich and Norwood champion Taylor on their richly deserved inductions into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

“A product of the Woodville-West Torrens Football Club, Matthew Pavlich has been one of Fremantle’s most illustrious players, earning six best-and-fairests and six All-Australian selections,” he said.

“Michael Taylor is widely regarded as one of the game’s greatest defenders throughout his wonderful career with the Norwood and Collingwood football clubs.

“In addition, Michael made a significant contribution to our game as a coach with Adelaide and West Adelaide football clubs and as SA coach in 1993 and 1994.

“SANFL and the SA Football Commission are thrilled to see these two South Australian greats receive this richly-deserved honour of being inducted in the Australian Football Hall of Fame.”

The State Library is currently showcasing an exciting new exhibition, ‘Our footy, our people, our stories’, which explores 145 years of great moments and achievements of the SANFL and you can read all about it here.

View the news story on the SA players honoured in tonight’s Australian Football Hall of Fame and their credentials on  

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top