Total fire bans declared in numerous SA locations

Total fire bans have been declared for West Coast, Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Mid North, Mount Lofty Ranges, Yorke Peninsula, and Lower South East.

TOTAL FIRE BANS have been declared for 21 January 2021 in the following Fire Ban Districts:

West Coast – Severe
Eastern Eyre Peninsula – Severe
Mid North – Severe
Mount Lofty Ranges – Severe
Yorke Peninsula – Severe
Lower South East – Severe

Where Total Fire Bans have been declared, very hazardous fire weather conditions are predicted.

The Total Fire Ban will apply for 24 hours from midnight tonight to midnight tomorrow.

The CFS recommends that you implement your Bushfire Survival Plan.


Where fire ban districts have a forecast fire danger rating of Severe, well prepared and actively defended houses can offer safety during a fire.

If you don’t have a plan to ensure your survival, leaving early before a fire starts is your safest option.

In making your plan, you should be aware that in high fire danger conditions, essential services including mains-fed electricity and water supply may not be available due to the prevailing weather conditions.

Landowners are asked to adhere to local harvest codes of practice which are available from your local council.

Landowners are also asked to ensure that any burn-off activities conducted today are fully extinguished before midnight tonight.

Agencies are advised to activate their Total Fire Ban procedures in preparation for these predicted fire weather conditions.

For further information contact the Bushfire Information Hotline on 1800 362 361 or visit https://www.cfs.sa.gov.au/home/.

To Top