Troppo Takes Out City of Adelaide Prize

Troppo has taken out both the City of Adelaide Prize and People’s Choice awards.

2014051695_0_Troppo_CafeTroppo_unknown copyTroppo has taken out both the City of Adelaide Prize and People’s Choice awards, announced by Lord Mayor Stephen Yarwood at the 2014 South Australian Architecture Awards dinner on July 4.

Café Troppo in Whitmore Square is this year’s winner of the City of Adelaide Prize, while the Foods For Life Parklet (Gawler Place) was voted by the public as the 2014 People’s Choice Award.

Stephen congratulated all nominees for the Prize and People’s Choice awards, which also included: Blue Hive (HASSELL SA), Adelaide Parking Day (Adelaide Parking Day), One. Adelaide (One. One Adelaide Committee), Lock in the Love (Heart Foundation) and Bank Street (TCL, Jensen Planning & DPTI).

“Both Café Troppo and the Foods For Life Parklet demonstrate Troppo’s commitment to go the extra mile towards local projects that are accessible to all,” Stephen said.

“Café Troppo has been acknowledged not only for its design excellence, but also for its social conscience as part of the Whitmore Square Affordable Housing initiative. It offers food to the homeless, while also helping to activate and bring the Whitmore Square community together.

“Parklets are a successful concept the council has thrown its weight behind here in Adelaide, and Troppo has taken advantage of the opportunity to partner with Foods For Life owner Jason Schultz to create a parklet outside their Gawler Place business.

“Foods For Life look after and maintain the parklet on a daily basis, however the parklet is available for everyone to use, whether or not they are a customer of the business.

“It provides public space along a busy commercial corridor, while also supporting Gawler Place businesses by encouraging pedestrians to linger.”

Sponsored by Council, the Prize is a category of the prestigious SA Architecture Awards which recognises innovation and excellence in enhancing the public realm of the city.

This year’s jury consisted of the following industry partners: Kirsteen Mackay (Associate Government Architect); Sandy Wilkinson (Adelaide City Councillor); Warwick Keates (2013 recipient and Australian Institute of Landscape Architects representative); Andrew Whittaker (Design Institute of Australia); Kishan Sidhu (Planning Institute of Australia) and Lisa Slade (Arts SA).

In the lead up to the Awards, Council (through Splash Adelaide) has also partnered with the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects in the #ADLarchigram social media initiative.

For more information visit or

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top