Winner of the 2020 City of Adelaide Prize announced • Glam Adelaide

Winner of the 2020 City of Adelaide Prize announced

“The nominees were outstanding, as they are every year, and deciding on an overall winner was difficult,” said Councillor Abrahimzadeh.


This year’s winner of the 2020 City of Adelaide Prize is U-City by Woods Bagot, a sustainably designed building which houses a range of health and well-being services, aged care, a church and public open space.

U City

The City of Adelaide Prize, established by the City of Adelaide in 1997, recognises innovation and design excellence that enhances the city’s public spaces. Nine entries were received this year, with winners announced at an online ceremony in place of the usual dinner in light of COVID-19 restrictions.

City of Adelaide Councillor Arman Abrahimzadeh was a jury member for this year’s prize. “The nominees were outstanding, as they are every year, and deciding on an overall winner was difficult,” said Councillor Abrahimzadeh.

“Woods Bagot’s thoughtful and intuitive design for U-City is well-deserving of the award. It sets a new benchmark for multiple-use buildings while delivering generous additions to the public realm at street level by re-establishing Penaluma Place.

“The building continues to embrace the corner site, similar to its predecessor, however it realises a greater level of integration, with small reminders of the site’s rich history layered throughout the building.

“U-City shows a new approach for integrated development, housed within well-considered, resolved and thoughtful built form. The jury commends both client and architect for their evident partnership in realising a great outcome for the City of Adelaide.

“All the projects nominated were of an exceptional standard and add to the city experience. They demonstrate what can be achieved when we create opportunities in city spaces for designers and entrepreneurs to experiment.”

The jury also awarded commendations to Part Time Lover by Sans-Arc Studio and Tika Tirka Student Accommodation by Phillips/Pilkington Architects.

The jury described Part Time Lover as a bold addition to its heritage fabric, breathing fresh air into a previously under-utilised, left-over space. Attention to detailing and planning of spatial arrangements makes for an enjoyable user experience while complying with the complex access requirements of the site.

Tika Tirka was described as an ambitious approach to accommodation for Indigenous students living away from home. It carefully respects culture, place and connection to sky while creating a series of functional and private spaces. Sitting at ease in its surroundings, the delicately profiled screening and curve to the canopy soften the edges of the robust materials used throughout.

The winner of the People’s Choice category as voted by the South Australian public was St Aloysius College AR Community Mural.

Sponsored by the City of Adelaide, the People’s Choice Prize category was introduced in 2012, opening the competition up to a wider vote. The winner is the entry that receives the most votes.

Lord Mayor of Adelaide Sandy Verschoor said she was pleased to see such a range of innovative projects that showcase the talent in Adelaide’s architecture and design community.

“The nominated projects all bring great design to the City of Adelaide and enhance city spaces to encourage community use,” said the Lord Mayor.

“Well done to all award recipients and congratulations to everyone involved in each of the projects considered for the awards. All of the submissions were outstanding, adding to the high level of design in our city and creating welcoming and unique spaces for residents, workers and visitors alike in a city that is designed for life.”

Nine entries were received for the 2020 City of Adelaide Prize:
• Madre by RAD Studio
• Memorial Drive Centre Court Redevelopment by COX Architecture
• Paloma Bar and Pantry by Claire Kneebone and Folland Panozzo Architects
• Part Time Lover by Sans-Arc Studio
• Sparkke at the Whitmore by Troppo Architects
• St Aloysius College AR Community Mural by Riggs Digital and St Aloysius Students, Staff and Community
• Tirka Tirka Student Accommodation by Phillips/Pilkington Architects
• U City by Woods Bagot
• Union House Cloister by Swanbury Penglase

The City of Adelaide Prize Jury for 2020 comprised of:
• Erin Crowden – Williams Burton Leopardi
• Daniel Bennett – AILA President
• Cr Arman Abrahimzadeh – City of Adelaide
• Elinor Walker – PIA President
• Tom Doull – Grieve Gillett Andersen (DIA representative)

For more information visit or

Hot News