Womad ‘Earth Station’ Line-up Announced

Womad 'Earth Station' have unveiled more details of the stellar line-up headlining the inaugural festival, to be held at the Belair National Park Adelaide, October 21-23.

Complementing already-announced artists, including the world-renowned Kronos Quartet, Björk Volta collaborators Konono No 1 and Toumani Diabate, Australian folk group The Audreys and Swedish performer The Tallest Man on Earth, will be American music icon Rickie Lee Jones, South African pianist and composer Abdullah Ibrahim, Indian percussionist, Zakir Hussain and The Shanghai Chinese Orchestra.

Joining the Planet Talks program alongside Cate Blanchett, Andrew Upton and Chief of Staff for former US Vice President Al Gore Roy Neel, is renowned sustainability campaigner Hunter Lovins , named TIME Magazine’s Hero of the Planet in 2000.

The Planet Talks program will include 18 sessions, looking closely at an array of key environmental and sustainability issues, with topics including ‘Welcome to the Anthropocene: Humanity’s Impact on Earth’ ‘Greening Australia’s Economy’, ‘Populate and Perish?: The Limits to Growth’, ‘River, Estuary, Sea – Who Cares about the Coorong?’, ‘The Price of Inaction’ and ‘Building Sustainable Businesses’.


Performance line-up:

The Kronos Quartet (USA)

Abdullah Ibrahim (SOUTH AFRICA)

Rickie Lee Jones (USA)

Zakir Hussain (INDIA)

Toumani Diabate (MALI)


The Tallest Man on Earth (SWEDEN)

The Audreys (AUS)

The Catholics (AUS)

Emma Donovan Band (AUS)

Frank Yamma & David Bridie (AUS)

Iwantja Band (AUS)

Ellis Pearson – “Man Up a Tree” (SOUTH AFRICA – site artist)

Mark Atkins (AUS)

Mista Savona (AUS)

Pacific Curls (NZ)

Paris Wells (AUS)

Shanghai Chinese Orchestra (CHINA)

Stan’s Cafe “Of All the People in All the World” (UK – site piece)

Vika & Linda Bull (AUS)

Wu Man (CHINA)

The Yearlings (AUS)


Planet Talks:

Bruce Thom AM (Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists and Emeritus Professor University of  Sydney)

Cate Blanchett & Andrew Upton   (Sydney Theatre Company)

Giselle Weybrecht (USA)  (Author of The Sustainable MBA)

Hunter Lovins  (USA) (Founder of Natural Capitalism Solutions)

Samantha Mostyn (Founder of the ‘1 Million Women' movement)

Robyn Williams (ABC: The Science Show)

Ian Lowe OA  (President of Australian Conservation Foundation)

John McTernan (UK) (Global expert on public service leadership, adviser to Tony Blair)

Matthew Wright   (Director, Beyond Zero Emissions)

Rod Quantock (Australian Comedian)

Mike Young (Director, Environment Institute Adelaide University)

Mike Sandiford   (Director, Melbourne Energy Institute & Professor of Geology Melbourne University)

Paul Gilding   (Author of The Great Disruption, former Head of Greenpeace International)

Peter Cosier   (Director, Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists)

Prof Lesley Hughes   (Head of Biological Sciences, Macquarie University and Climate Change   Commissioner)

Roy Neel (USA) (Vice President Al Gore’s Chief of Staff)

Paul Willis (Director, RiAus)

Stephen Pekar (USA) (Assoc Professor School of Earth & Environmental Science, Queens College New York State)

Tim Stubbs   (Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists)

Bernie Hobbs (ABC: The New Inventors)

Associate Professor David Paton

Dominic Skinner (Freshwater Ecology Expert)

Associate Professor Keith Walker

Dr Graham Turner (Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems)

Fiona Heinrichs (Author, Sleepwalking to Catastrophe)


Visit for more info 

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top