2013 WOMADelaide Full Line Up Released

WOMADelaide, Australia’s favourite outdoor festival, today announced the full line-up for its 2013 festival, to be held in Adelaide’s Botanic Park from Friday 8 – Monday 11 March.

Joining the extraordinary line-up of 29 bands announced last month is the artist known as the “Golden Voice of Africa”, Salif Keita. Born to royal Malian lineage but ostracised in his childhood because of his albinism, Salif Keita’s distinctive brand of Afropop blends West African groove, jazz, funk and R&B influences and his long succession of hit albums identifies Salif among Africa’s utmost musical identities.  He returns to the festival after a five year absence with a new album produced by Philippe Cohen Solal from the Gotan Project.

Also appearing at the festival will be two other music heavyweights from Mali – the Sahara’s answer to Jimi Hendrix, Vieux Farka Touré, son of the late, great Ali Farka Touré, and Bassekou Kouyaté & his band Ngoni Ba, a former member of Toumani Diabaté’s magnificent Symmetric Orchestra – both making their WOMADelaide debuts.

Also announced is a trio of exciting and vastly different Latin acts; Colombia’s most famous 12 piece salsa orchestra LA–33,  Illapu from Chile, who spoke for a generation of disenchanted Chileans when exiled during Pinochet’s brutal regime, and Novalima, young musicians who are setting the standard for creating a Peruvian old-meets-new sound.

Also announced today is the extraordinary Alim Qasimov, Azerbaijan’s answer to Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, UK jazz-rap innovators The Herbaliser DJs and a Sing Sing (large musical gathering) featuring the cream of Australasia’s music, song and dance; from the Bull Sisters (Tonga) to George Telek (PNG) and Ego Lemos (Timor Leste).

The Australian contingent includes a joint performance from Tim Rogers & the Bamboos, a rare show by live drum n bass trio, The Bird, the whisky-tinged blues of Mia Dyson, the sultry soul of Clairy Browne & the Bangin’ Rackettes and indigenous up-and-comers, East Journey, from Gove.

Two brand new programs will be introduced; The Electrolounge and The Planet Talks. The Electrolounge is a late night lounge showcasing Adelaide’s finest ambient electronica DJs, musicians and VJs in Speakers Corner.

The Planet Talks is a series of six inspiring and stimulating panels hosted by the ABC’s Robyn Williams and Bernie Hobbs, featuring respected thinkers giving voice to a variety of environmental concerns, including Food Security & Sustainability, Activism & Slacktivism and Population & Consumption.  Speakers include Gardening Australia’s Costa Georgiadis, renowned US author Paul Ehrlich, musician Urthboy (the Herd), founder of OzHarvest Ronni Kahn, and Chair of the Australian Youth Climate Coalition Anna Rose.

“Featuring some of the brightest minds in the country, we believe The Planet Talks is an obvious extension to our already global program and that it will provide a valuable forum for everyone to engage in a discussion about the many environmental issues facing us all,” said Ian Scobie, Director.

Across the festival site, France’s Compagnie Luc Amoros will present their spectacular real time art installation, “Blank Page”, a ‘singing painting’ on a nine-metre, purpose-built scaffolding stage.  Macnas from Ireland will show off a five-metre tall giant roving puppet, The Boy Explorer, and the program will also include a range of outstanding family-friendly activities such as Boxwars – The Art of Destruction, where reclaimed cardboard is transformed into suits of armour, swords, shields and the like, and an expanded KidZone will feature Polyglot Theatre’s coloured elastic installation, “Tangle” and the South Australian Museum Explorer’s Tent.

While the reach and diversity of the WOMADelaide program grows every year, the festival still embraces its long-standing program favourites; a strong workshop program, Artists In Conversation, Taste the World cooking sessions by artists and guest chefs, more than 100 international food, retail and charity stalls and more.

The artists announced today are –

·         Adnaan Baraky (Syria/Australia)
·         Alim Qasimov Ensemble (Azerbaijan)
·         Arpaka Dance Company (Australia)
·         Bassekou Kouyaté & Ngoni Ba (Mali)
·         The Bird (Australia)
·         Clairy Browne & the Bangin’ Rackettes (Australia)
·         Dj ClicK (France)
·         East Journey (Australia)
·         Golonka (Australia)
·         Goran Bregovic & His Weddings & Funerals Orchestra (Serbia)
·         Heather Frahn & the Moonlight Tide (Australia)
·         The Herbaliser DJs (UK)
·         Illapu (Chile)
·         Kingfisha (Australia)
·         LA-33 (Colombia)
·         Mia Dyson (Australia)
·         Novalima (Peru)
·         Paul Ubana Jones (UK/Nigeria/NZ)
·         Salif Keita (Mali)
·         Sing Sing (Australasia)
·         Souad Massi (South Africa)
·         Tim Rogers & The Bamboos (Australia)
·         Tubular Bells for Two (Australia)
·         Vieux Farka Toure (Mali)
·         The Volatinsky Trio (Australia)
And site artists –

·         Barnaby Gibbons presents Charlie O’Taney, the Brooklyn Healer (UK)
·         Boxwars – The Art of Destruction (Australia)
·         Compagnie l’Eléphant Vert (France)
·         Compagnie Luc Amoros (France)
Macnas – The Boy Explorer (Ireland)
·         Polyglot Theatre “Tangle” (Australia)
·         Ringbalin – River Stories (Australia).

And they will join the artists announced in October –

·         Abigail Washburn & Kai Welch (USA)
·         The Alaev Family (Tajikistan/Israel)
·         Amparo Sanchez (Spain)
·         Antibalas (USA)
·         Ayarkhaan (Russia)
·         The Cat Empire (Australia)
·         Christine Salem (Reunion)
·         The Correspondents (UK)
·         Dhafer Youssef (Tunisia)
·         The Herd (Australia)
·         Hugh Masekela (South Africa)
·         Hugo Mendez (UK)
·         Jimmy Cliff (Jamaica)
·         Jordi Savall – The Celtic Viol (Spain)
·         LAU (Scotland)
·         Manjiri Kelkar (India)
·         Mara! & Martenitsa Choir (Australia)
·         Mari Boine (Norway)
·         Moriarty (France)
·         Nidi d’Arac (Italy)
·         Psarantonis (Greece)
·         Savoy Family Cajun Band (USA)
·         Seth Lakeman (UK)
·         Shunsuke Kimura & Etsuro Ono (Japan)
·         Soweto Gospel Choir (South Africa)
·         Sudha Ragunathan (India)
·         Swamp Thing (New Zealand)
·         The Tallest Man on Earth (Sweden)
·         Tuba Skinny (USA)
·         Zoë Keating (USA)

For tickets and further information please visit

[adrotate banner="159"]
To Top